The Silver Age  (stories) Cape/Harper & Row, 1985 (published in US as Delirium Eclipse)

A Jump Start  (poems) Secker & Warburg/Norton, 1987

Three Evenings  (stories) Secker & Warburg/FSG, 1992

After Ovid: New Metamorphoses  (co-editor) Faber and Faber/FSG, 1994

The Revenant  (poems) Cape/Norton, 1995 (published in US as Woman Police Officer in Elevator)

Walking and Eating in Tuscany and Umbria  (with Pia Davis) Penguin, 1997

The Siege  (stories) Vintage/Norton, 1999 (published in US as Besieged)

Landscape with Chainsaw  (poems) Cape/Norton, 2001

The Horned Man  (novel) Cape/Norton, 2002

Seven Lies  (novel) Cape/Norton, 2006

Walking and Eating in Provence  (with Pia Davis) Moon, 2008

It’s Beginning to Hurt  (stories) Cape/FSG, 2009

Water Sessions  (poems) Cape, 2012

Give Me Everything You Have: On Being Stalked  (memoir) Cape/FSG, 2013

Feathered Glory (novella) published in The Paris Review, issue 212, spring 2015

Bluestone: New and Selected Poems FSG, 2015

The Fall Guy (novel) Norton/Cape 2016

Afternoon of a Faun (novel) Norton 2019

Victory (two short novels, including Afternoon of a Faun) Cape 2019